Berry picking

The other day I decided to take Will and Harper blackberry picking at a local farm. What was I thinking, taking a one year old and a three year old berry picking?! Actually, it wasn’t as difficult as I was anticipating, thank goodness! This was the first time going to the berry farm and I wasn’t sure what to expect. I pulled up to the mini farm (which, coincidentally, is right near our old neighborhood-I could have walked to it from our old house; you can see the neighborhood behind the berry bushes) and in a small shed, there was a sign that said, “Honk your horn, I’m working in the garden.” Luckily, the nice owner had heard me drive up and welcomed me, saying that I had my hands full. Ha! She gave me a bucket and pointed down the hill to where her husband was working. We (primarily me, but Miss H. put a few ripe berries in the bucket, and Will helped a little, though most went in his mouth) started down the row picking blackberries. Harper and Will followed close behind, picking berries as we went. By the time we were done, their faces were covered in purple juice! I was able to pick over four pounds of berries! We ate some of the berries and I made a crisp with the rest. The crisp turned out okay, but it wasn’t my best recipe. It was watery and not sweet enough. Those berries were tart! It was a fun adventure, and I’m sure we will be back next year:)

20130726-133036.jpg

20130726-133054.jpg

20130726-133106.jpg20130726-133120.jpg

20130726-133131.jpg

Leave a Reply

