Weekly Pinterest Project-Week 1: Individual Baked Oatmeal and Energy Balls

Since I’m kinda obsessed with Pinterest (ha!), I thought I’d start a weekly post where I document a new recipe, tip, craft, etc from Pinterest. We will see how this once a week thing goes once school starts and our lives get really hectic (with work, preschool, music classes twice a week-one night for Will, another night for Harper, and possible swim lessons, among other activities-whew!) but I think it will help me try out some of the zillion pins I have on my boards! I will try to post each Monday or Tuesday morning (that way, I will have the weekend to write up the post). I’m hoping this will get me to try more crafty projects…I tend to pin lots of recipes since that’s more in my comfort zone. I’m too much of a perfectionist with crafting for it to work out well for me. I’m working on this, but it’s hard.

For my first project, I tried out two new recipes (go figure!). I have been in search of healthy breakfast options for the kids (and me) and wanted to try out a few before school started. First up, I made some personal sized baked oatmeal. I have always wanted to make a baked oatmeal, but it just makes so much! This is the perfect way to make baked oatmeal since you can freeze it! It made about 24 muffins and I stuck half in the freezer. I put raisins on some of the oatmeal and left some plain. You could add other toppings such as nuts or other dried fruit. I might try some other toppings next time; raisins were all I had in the pantry. I only made one change to the recipe-instead of using flaxseed meal (I didn’t have any), I substituted wheat germ. This substitution turned out fine. Oh, I also used honey instead of stevia. After they came out of the oven, WIll was begging for one as a snack. He loved it, and so did Miss H. I’m glad she liked it since she gags when eating regular oatmeal. The baked oatmeal is more like eating a muffin. I plan on taking these to the sitter this week for my kids’ breakfast.

20130808-122219.jpg

I’m not big into oatmeal (though the baked oatmeal wasn’t bad), so I searched for some breakfast bites/bars for me. I came across these yummy no bake energy bites. Yum-o! I made them with crunchy peanut butter and wheat germ. Next time, I might try using almond or sunflower butter. They were delicious, though, and taste like dessert! I’m going to take these this week to school for breakfast/snack. Mine ended up a little crumbly, so I’m going to up the amount of peanut butter next time. Gimme Some Oven, the blog where I found the recipe, also had pumpkin no bake energy bites and cranberry pistachio energy bites. Later this fall, I may have to try the pumpkin kind!

Now off to see what next week’s project will be!!

20130808-122228.jpg

One thought on “Weekly Pinterest Project-Week 1: Individual Baked Oatmeal and Energy Balls

  1. Pingback: {my year of weekly pinterest projects: a recap} | Harper and Will

Leave a Reply

