Weekly Pinterest Project-Week 2: Freezing Zucchini

Note-I thought this post had been published last Monday…oops! i set it up to automatically post but not sure what happens. I’m still learning about this whole blogging/posting thing and have been switching back and forth between my iPhone and laptop to write posts, which has been confusing. Anyway, here was last week’s project. Check back tomorrow for this week’s post. Thanks!

Here goes round two of my weekly Pinterest project. Not too bad, but again, we will see how this goes as I get even busier with school and life this fall. Anyway, for this week’s project, I decided to freeze some zucchini from our garden. We have a little garden out back with some tomato, pepper, squash, and zucchini plants, along with some basil and mint. The garden isn’t looking too great this year, but it has been producing LOTS of zucchini. This summer, I have made roasted zucchini, zucchini brownies, and chocolate zucchini bread on numerous occasions, but I’m kind of burnt out on zucchini now. However, I didn’t want all of our zucchini to go to waste. Plus, we have some huge baseball bat sized zucchini that are not good to eat as a side dish, so they have to be shredded and added to muffins or bread. So I went in search of how to freeze zucchini. It was VERY EASY! All you do is shred the zucchini and put it in ziplock bags. I measured out two cups per bag and labeled them with the amount and date. This fall and winter, I’ll be able to pull out a bag of frozen zucchini and make zucchini bread. YUM! Click here for the blog where I found the idea.

IMG_9961IMG_0009

IMG_0019

One recipe I would like to try is this lemon poppy seed zucchini bread. Oh my, I love lemon poppy seed bread but never would have thought to combine it with zucchini. It sounds delicious! This chocolate chip zucchini banana bread also looks tasty. Check back later this year to see what I decide to make!

3 thoughts on “Weekly Pinterest Project-Week 2: Freezing Zucchini

  1. I love zucchini bread and this is such a great idea! I am jealous of all the goodies in your garden! I say every year that I’m making a garden and never do!

  2. Thanks, Andrea! Our garden is very small and we haven’t put much work into it (too hard at this point with two little kiddos to devote much time). You could do a little garden or some plants in pots-it doesn’t take much work!! We ended up buying lots of fresh produce at our local farmer’s market:)

  3. Pingback: {my year of weekly pinterest projects: a recap} | Harper and Will

Leave a Reply

