Five on Friday: Fall Edition

20130930-203207.jpg

Happy Friday! I’m linking up with Darci from The Good Life Blog for Five on Friday: Fall Edition!

Pumpkin patch

One of our family traditions (new since we have had kids) is going to the pumpkin patch each year.  According to my father-in-law, my husband didn’t go to the pumpkin patch when he was little.  He went once on a field trip in pre-k, he tells me.  How sad:(  Now that I think about it, I don’t really remember going to the pumpkin patch as a kid, either. Maybe that’s why I love our yearly trip to the pumpkin patch–to make up for all those missed trips as a kid. It’s one of our family traditions that we will continue as long as our kids will let us, ha!  Please tell me that I’m not the only parent who coordinates their kids’ outfits when going pumpkin picking…I just had to put them in cute fall-ish clothes for the photos!  By the way, both of their tops are consignment sale steals for $2-3!

scarves-fall

I love scarves and wear them year round, though I especially like wearing them in the fall!  It’s hard to tell in this picture since Miss Harper is on my shoulders, but I’m wearing a comfy jersey ruffled scarf from The Pleated Poppy.  I’ve been trying different ways to tie scarves; there’s plenty of how-to’s on Pinterest.

fall weather

I’m loving the cooler weather in the evenings!  To be honest, I was getting a little tired of all the summery clothes.  Don’t get me wrong, I love bright, fun summer colors and outfits, but I was ready for a change.  Here’s Miss H rocking another consignment top.  I’m sure that by the end of winter, I will be so ready to be back in spring/summer clothes, but for now I’m enjoying all the new (or new to us!) long sleeve tops and pants with the pretty fall colors!

fall hiking

WIth the cooler weather comes some fun opportunities for hiking!  We were on a hiking kick in September and explored Humpback Rock and Crabtree Falls, as well as another trail on Skyline Drive.  Our weekends recently have been filled with other fun activities, but we hope to hike several more times before winter.

apple orchard

Another family tradition is going to a local apple orchard.  We started this tradition two years ago with my parents and plan on heading to the orchard tomorrow for our annual trip.  This is a picture from last year’s adventure.  So fun!

8 thoughts on “Five on Friday: Fall Edition

  1. I really love all of your ‘5’ things! I think anything that gets the kids out in the open fresh air is a winner! Love your family traditions, may have to steal the apple orchard one! I live in cider country here in the UK so no excuses not to find one near! Cute family. All the best Lizzie x

  2. I love the cooler weather that we’ve been having. It’s much better for the kids to play outside in. I never had the chance to go pumpkin picking as child either. It’s one reason why want to make it a tradition for our family. I think it’s great for kids to have traditions to pass down to their children and to be able to look back on with fond memories.

Leave a Reply

