Thanksgiving Recap-Instagram Edition

I hope y’all had a nice, relaxing Thanksgiving! Here’s a brief recap of our Thanksgiving, Instagram edition. I’m not sure when our computer will be working again, so it’s going to be lots of iPhone pics and short posts typed on my phone or iPad:( We had a wonderful time with family but are glad to be back home!

Last Wednesday, we drove to West Virginia to visit my husband’s parents as well as his brother, sister-in-law, and our two nieces. We planned it so Will and Harper would take their naps in the car. While driving, we went through some bad weather. The snow made it seem more like Christmas than Thanksgiving! My parents got several inches of snow at their house (they live about thirty minutes from my in-laws), and as we headed up the mountain to their house Wednesday evening, the roads were extremely icy. Luckily, we made it there safely (but got stuck in traffic for 45 minutes due to a car accident).

20131201-114433.jpg

20131201-114444.jpg

20131201-114454.jpg

On Thursday, we had a Thanksgiving meal with my in-laws and my brother-in-law and his family. My brother-in-law and his fam recently moved to Kentucky and we haven’t see them since last year. They have two kiddos, V, who is five, and E, who is three. Will and Harper love playing with their cousins! The four kiddos ran around the house and played all day long.

20131201-114507.jpg

On Friday, we hung out at the in-laws. That night, we headed back up to my parents for dinner. After dinner, we made and decorated sand tarts, a family tradition. My dad has been making these thin, buttery cookies since he was little. He grew up in Lancaster, Pennsylvania and as a kid he worked for a lady who made cookies. Will had a blast sprinkling decorations onto the cookies! I love that baking Christmas cookies is a tradition that we have continued!

20131201-114520.jpg

Worn out kiddos!

20131201-114531.jpg

20131201-114546.jpg

Yummy cookies!

20131201-114602.jpg

Miss H enjoyed her first sand tart!

20131201-114614.jpg

On Saturday, we had Thanksgiving #2 with my parents. Usually my brother and sister-in-law come in from North Carolina, but this year my sister-in-law’s parents went to NC to visit.

We had a great time visiting with family, playing outside in the snow and cold, and eating delicious food! We are so blessed:)

20131201-114622.jpg

Leave a Reply

