Five on Friday!

20131207-201455.jpg

Happy Friday!  I’m linking up with Darci and friends for Five on Friday, Instagram Edition (again, ha! Computer is still not working):)

{1} Here’s what happens when you live next to a dairy farm-cows in the road!.  We drove home the other evening from my husband’s work Christmas party, and found about twenty cows out on the road.  As we drove up the hill to turn into our driveway, the cows decided to head up our driveway as well.  We went straight and pulled into our neighbor’s driveway.  My husband got out of the car and chased the cows down the hill back to their field while I texted the farmers to let them know.  The cows don’t get out of their field much, but when they do, they cause lots of damage to our yard and trample our bushes and flowers:(

20131210-133459.jpg

{2} Last weekend, we went to a local Christmas tree farm to select our tree.  I love this tradition, but my husband…not so much.  He would prefer to have an artificial tree, but so far, I’ve won this battle!  Here’s Miss H. and Will at the farm.  It was a cold, cold day, so we weren’t there long.  Just long enough to pick out a tree and snap a few pics!

20131210-133544.jpg

20131210-133557.jpg

{3} Christmas cards-addressed, stamped, and mailed!  I got a great deal from Minted on Christmas postcards, but I also picked up some Christmas cards at Target so I could mail some family and friends pics from our fall photo session.

20131210-133615.jpg

{4} On Monday and Tuesday, we  had snow/sleet/ice days and  I got to stay home from school! I’ve really enjoyed the time with the kiddos but want to save some of our built-in snow days until later in winter (now we only have three more).  Plus, we only have to work five more days until winter break, yay!  The weather wasn’t too bad on Monday, so I took Will and Harper out to run some errands with me.  When I told Will we were going to run errands, he asked “Why are we going to see Aaron?”  Ha!  We went to the post office to mail our Christmas cards, checked out some books at our local library, and headed to our favorite toy store to play and pick out some gifts.  On Tuesday, we hung around the house and made cookies, built a train set, organized our toys, read lots of books, danced to music, and just had lots of fun!

20131210-133634.jpg

20131210-133652.jpg

{5} Here’s what our bonus room/play room upstairs looks like on any given day…keeping it real, folks!  I don’t even bother to pick up the toys on a regular basis any more. We do clean up our toys downstairs daily (for the most part), but I’ve given up on the playroom, ha!  Anyway, this leads me to Christmas shopping and gifts.  I’m almost finished with Christmas shopping but decided that since Will and Harper already have lots of toys, we are going to do the simple gift giving philosophy that I’ve seen around blogs and most recently, on the Girl in the Red Shoes.  It’s the “something you want, something you need, something to wear, and something to read” philosophy.  We’re also going to collect some old toys that the kids no longer play with and donate to Salvation Army or the local mission.

20131210-133658.jpg

4 thoughts on “Five on Friday!

Leave a Reply

