14 in 2014

20140105-144033.jpg

A little late, but I hope everyone had a very Happy New Year! Our family is back to work and back on schedule. It was so nice to be off for almost two weeks, but getting back to our routine has been good.

I’m not big on making New Year’s resolutions, but I like to create goals for the year. So, here are my 14 in 2014 (in no particular order)!!

{one} Read more books! Since having kids, I haven’t read much at all. I’ve tried to listen to books on CDs on the way to and from work (I really enjoyed The Pioneer Woman’s book!), but I would love to get back into reading novels at home. In the evenings after Will and Harper are in bed, I usually spend time reading the zillions of blogs on my Bloglovin app! I need to pick up some novels and not be so attached to my iPhone and iPad!

{two} Make healthier meals. We try to eat fairly healthy and I typically cook only one meal a week with meat (chicken or turkey), but I could make even healthier meals. I need to find more healthy, easy to make meals for the busy work nights! I try to do most of the meal prep for the week on Sundays-washing and cutting up fruits and vegetables, making a crock pot meal for Monday, etc., which helps greatly. I just want to eat a little healthier:)

{three} Stress less and make life more simplified. I get stressed out with trying to balance work and family.

{four} Spend more quality time with my family without stressing out about laundry that needs washed, meals that need cooked, etc. This goes along with #3.

{five} Have more date nights! My husband and I went out on a date this weekend. It was the first time we had been out to eat by ourselves since sometime in 2012 (it was so long ago I can’t remember, ha! Harper was less than a year old). We had such a great time and need to do it more often! Our babysitter is a senior in college and she was home for Christmas, so we took advantage of it! The kiddos did great with her, so we will be calling her up more when she’s home on breaks.

{six} Create or purchase a home organization binder. I love this Simplified Life Binder by Emily Ley. I recently found her site through the Five on Friday blog link-up with Darci from The Good Life Blog and love her products and ideas!

{seven} Become more organized. I love being organized and spent some time over winter break organizing toys and clothes. There’s still room for improvement though, ha!

{eight} Participate in the 52 week money challenge. I saw this 52 week savings plan on Facebook, Pinterest, and blogs. We save a specific amount each month but I thought this would be an easy way to save for a vacation or a big purchase.

{nine} Use less plastic and disposable items. Over the years, we have eliminated most of our plastic food containers and swapped them for glass ones. I have some reusable snack bags but need to do a better job of utilizing them. I’m considering switching to cloth napkins and loved the suggestion from This Week for Dinner about using cocktail napkins from Crate and Barrel. I love the other ideas from This Week for Dinner about using less plastic (she has great recipes as well!).

{ten} Complete acts of kindness throughout the year. Inspired by this blog post, I’m going to do several of these (and others) during the year.

{eleven} Organize pictures on the computer. Our computer is STILL not working, but when we get it fixed, one goal is to organize the thousands of pictures. I need to do a much better job of sorting the pictures by month and/or events.

{twelve} Learn how to take better pictures. I took a photography class several years ago but would like a refresher. I need to take more pictures in manual mode.

{thirteen} Become more active. Spend more time outdoors with my family, go hiking more, move more.

{fourteen} Make more natural household items and scale back on the number of products we use. I recently made an easy, natural foaming soap and want to try some homemade laundry detergent and all purpose cleaner. I would like to make a cleaner that could be used for a variety of things instead of having a specific cleaner for everything. I love this post about simplifying household items from one of my favorite blogs, Young House Love.

I will post periodically about how I’m progressing with my goals this year! What are your goals for 2014?!

2 thoughts on “14 in 2014

  1. Pingback: {It’s the Little Things Link-Up} | Harper and Will

Leave a Reply

