Weekly Pinterest Project: Week 33-Green Smoothies

20140131-205935.jpg

I have been wanting to make a green smoothie with spinach for months and finally made one a few weeks ago.  I was a little skeptical at first-making a smoothie with spinach?  Yuck.  Anyway, I decided to give it a try, and it turned out delicious!  Will and Harper loved the smoothie as well!

I did a little research first to see if I could use a simple blender for the smoothie.  I wasn’t sure if my cheap blender would create a smooth enough smoothie. I was afraid to taste big shreds of spinach.  However, by putting the ingredients in the blender in a specific order, we had very smooth, creamy smoothies!

20140131-210002.jpg

I first put in some vanilla Greek yogurt, a splash of almond milk, frozen blueberries, a chopped up banana, and some spinach.  The key to using this type of blender is to finely chop your ingredients, especially the spinach.  Another key is to use some sort of frozen fruit instead of ice cubes.  I also added a dollop of almond butter.  It was so yummy!  No taste of spinach and no weird texture!  The kiddos absolutely loved them!

20140131-210014.jpg

20140131-210031.jpg

One thought on “Weekly Pinterest Project: Week 33-Green Smoothies

  1. Pingback: {my year of weekly pinterest projects: a recap} | Harper and Will

Leave a Reply

