Weekly Pinterest Project: Week 35: Homemade Taco Seasoning

20140303-113737.jpg

Happy Monday! Welcome to another edition of my Weekly Pinterest Project, where I attempt one of the thousands of crafts/recipes/tips, etc. that I’ve pinned on Pinterest. Kind of my way of keeping me accountable re: trying new things, ha!

This week, I’m showing you how to make a very easy chili and taco seasoning. Never, ever buy the storebought taco seasoning again because this recipe is so easy and much cheaper! I like how it’s versatile and can be used as a chili and taco seasoning. The stores trick you into thinking you need a separate seasoning for chili and a different kind for tacos.  Not true!

I mixed the following ingredients together in a glass bowl:

4 tablespoons chili powder

1 teaspoon garlic powder, onion powder, crushed red pepper flakes, dried oregano

2 teaspoons paprika

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

2 tablespoons ground cumin

3 teaspoons sea salt

4 teaspoons black pepper

Combine and store in a glass container for up to one year.

I quadrupled the recipe since we use a ton of taco/chili seasoning, but feel free to experiment.  When a recipe calls for taco or chili seasoning, use approximately 1 1/2-2 tablespoons of the homemade seasoning.  Enjoy!

taco seasoning

3 thoughts on “Weekly Pinterest Project: Week 35: Homemade Taco Seasoning

  1. Pingback: {my year of weekly pinterest projects: a recap} | Harper and Will

Leave a Reply

