Weekly Pinterest Project: Week 36-Primary Color Banner

IMG_5660

Here’s another weekly Pinterest project! Since Will’s 4th birthday is quickly approaching, I thought I’d better get a start on some of the DIY projects/decorations I have planned for his Lego birthday party. I bought a Lego birthday banner from Etsy but wanted to make a second banner/garland to put in our dining room.  There are some beautiful paint chip banners floating around Pinterest, but when it got down to it, I was too chicken to go to Lowe’s or Home Depot to snag some paint chip samples.  I thought about it and even texted my husband to ask if he needed anything at Lowe’s. He was surprised that I was heading to Lowe’s but, unfortunately, he didn’t need anything there.

So, I headed to Michaels to find some primary color scrapbook paper. For this banner, I needed to buy a circle hole puncher. I have one but it’s scalloped and I didn’t want the scalloped look for this party.  I also found some pretty red twine to attach the circles to. Besides the glue gun at home, that’s all the materials needed for this project.

IMG_0363

I punched out approximately 16 circles of each color-red, yellow, orange, blue, and green. Since Will’s party is based on a Lego theme, I am sticking with primary colors.

IMG_0364

I ended up with more circles than I needed.

IMG_0367

I spread out the circles in the color pattern I wanted and set the twine on top, then I put a line of hot glue straight down the center of a second circle of the same color.  Quickly, I set the second circle on top the other and pressed it together.  I repeated these steps until I achieved my desired length.

IMG_0370

Here’s the final banner displayed in our dining room! Getting ready for a fun 4th Lego birthday party!

IMG_0379

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly Pinterest Project: Week 36-Primary Color Banner

  1. Pingback: {my year of weekly pinterest projects: a recap} | Harper and Will

  2. Pingback: {my year of weekly pinterest projects: a recap} | Harper and Will

Leave a Reply

