Chores for Kiddos // It’s the Little Things

20140427-131851.jpg

Hello! I’m linking up with Ashley from Words About Waverly and Jess from Sadie Sky Boutique for “It’s the Little Things.”

Will and Harper ALWAYS want to be involved in what I’m doing around the house.  Whether it’s cooking dinner or dusting, they are all about being right in the action.  It’s great and I’m glad they want to help out…it just takes me three times as long to finish a task, ha!

I was tidying up the house in preparation for Will’s fourth birthday party when Will asked for a duster to help clean.  They both went around the house and “dusted” for me.  So sweet!

20140427-131917.jpg

20140427-131943.jpg

Helping daddy mulch the flower beds and shrubs.

20140428-202932.jpg

More mulching and playing.

20140428-202957.jpg

Weeding with daddy.

20140428-203009.jpg

There are a variety of age appropriate charts floating around the Internet, including this free printable. Some of the chores listed for 2-3 year olds include picking up/putting away toys (check), unload the dishwasher (check-Harper enjoys handing the silverware to me), put clothes in the dirty clothes hamper (check), swifter the floor (gotta work on this!), and making the bed.  This one poses a problem since Harper is still in a crib:)

The chores for 4-5 year olds include any of the previous chores listed for 2-3 year olds, set the table (check), weed (we’ve worked on this), and washing dishes (gotta get started on this), among several others.

I always had specific chores as a child, and I think it instills a great sense of responsibility on children to have specific tasks.  I need to print off the chart as a reference as I start introducing new tasks for Will and Harper.

Have a great day!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Chores for Kiddos // It’s the Little Things

  1. Stopping by from the link up! What a great idea! I need to get my 3 year old on board with this, Maybe this will stop her from making her room such a huge mess every night!

  2. Such adorable pictures! Love that your kiddos help you out around the house. My daughter does too but I haven’t yet put much emphasis on them being “chores” as in she has to do them, Thanks for the chart link. I’m with you, I definitely think chores are a great way to mold our children into learning what it means to be responsible.

  3. This is a great reminder- my little guy is almost 2 and it’s just so much quicker for me to do it that I usually don’t involve him. But you got to start somewhere!

Leave a Reply

