Weekly Pinterest Project: Week 45-Strawberry Pie

20140601-204837-74917684.jpg

Welcome to week 45 of my Weekly Pinterest Project! I can’t believe I’m coming up on almost a year of this weekly project I created!

A few weeks ago, we visited a strawberry patch and picked some yummy strawberries. I knew there was no way we could eat all of them before they went bad, so I decided to make a strawberry pie.  I’ve never made one before and wasn’t sure how it would turn out.  My fear was that it would be soupy and not gel properly.

I found the recipe  here and love that it’s a combination of fresh strawberries and finely chopped strawberries that are cooked on the stove.

20140601-204838-74918081.jpgThe final product!

20140601-204838-74918886.jpg

Another first for me was pre-baking a pie crust.  I’ve always made pies with crusts that you bake with the filling or graham cracker crusts for no-bake desserts.  I dumped in some dried beans and baked the crust so it wouldn’t puff up.  20140601-204838-74918476.jpgThe pie turned out wonderful! I recommend letting it chill overnight in the fridge in order to fully solidify it.  If you haven’t made a strawberry pie before, go out and make one! It was easy to make and delicious! I’m going to make one every year during strawberry season:)

3 thoughts on “Weekly Pinterest Project: Week 45-Strawberry Pie

  1. Pingback: {my year of weekly pinterest projects: a recap} | Harper and Will

Leave a Reply

