Weekly Pinterest Project: Week 51-Pioneer Woman Coffee Granita

IMG_4764

I’m popping in for a quick Pinterest project this morning! I love anything Pioneer Woman and decided to try her coffee granita. I realized after I started making this drink that I didn’t really find this recipe on Pinterest. I have the Pioneer Woman’s holiday cookbook (I highly recommend it!). Oops. I’m still going to make it count as one of my projects, anyway! There are plenty of granita recipes on Pinterest, so I just adapted mine:) 

I used to get the most delicious coffee granita in college at my school’s bookstore. It was kind of like a frappuccino but different (almost better, and I love frappuccinos). My roommate and I frequented the bookstore on Saturdays where we would enjoy cinnamon rolls and coffee granites. Sugar overload! {Sidenote: it’s really hard to believe that I graduated from college twelve years ago! Oh, my, I’m getting old…and time is flying!}

Anyway, back to the recipe. I mixed together sugar, vanilla, and some cream in a glass baking dish. In the other dish, I poured some coffee and a little sugar. 

IMG_4767

Both pans went in the freezer for several hours. I had to pull them out every 30-45 minutes and scrape the top so it would form a slushy like consistency. IMG_4772

After scraping it periodically for several hours, it was finally done! While it tasted yummy with the layer of cream and the coffee, it was not like the granitas I had in college. It would be a good drink to serve at brunch, though!IMG_477420140622-215321-78801830.jpg

One thought on “Weekly Pinterest Project: Week 51-Pioneer Woman Coffee Granita

  1. Pingback: {my year of weekly pinterest projects: a recap} | Harper and Will

Leave a Reply

