Five on Friday!

20140119-070725.jpg

Happy Friday! I’m linking up with Darci and friends for a fabulous Five on Friday:)

What a nice week! We went to school on Monday, had off Tuesday through Thursday due to snow, and now a two hour delay today! I could get used to this, ha! (Update- now we are off today! Four days in a row!)

{1} I’m loving these adorable Valentine’s plates I bought at Target the other week!  I’m not big on buying lots of seasonal items such as plates and cups for the kiddos (though they are so cute and fun), simply because I don’t feel that we get enough use out of them.  Plus, I’m trying to keep things more simple and don’t want lots of clutter around the house.  However, I couldn’t resist these! (They were pretty cheap and not too Valentine-ish, so we could use them throughout the year).

20140119-070741.jpg

{2} Last weekend, we went downtown (in the freezing cold! It was like 20 degrees…brrrr) to our local toy store, Pufferbellies.  Will and Harper love playing with all the fun toys:) Here’s Harper making some music! After playing, we headed to a new cloth diaper store (see #3 and 4 below) and then to a coffee shop for some vanilla chai (me), a chocolate mocha (my husband) and a lemon poppyseed muffin (the kiddos).  Such a fun morning!

20140119-070826.jpg

{3} While at the new cloth diaper store, I came across an organic laundry soap called Eco Nuts.  I have heard of the soap nuts and had always wanted to try them.  The nuts are a berry that grow on trees in the Himalayas.  All you do is put 4-5 nuts in a bag (it comes with two bags) and toss them into the washer.  We have an HE washing machine, and they work just fine! I washed several loads of laundry with the eco nuts and they worked well (there’s just no fragrance)!  I’m trying to purchase/make more natural household items, and these are so cool!  You reuse the nuts up to ten times and they are compostable.

20140119-070838.jpg

{4} My reason for checking out the cloth diaper store was to purchase these training pants for Will.  He has been potty trained since last summer but has been wearing a diaper at night.  He is typically completely dry in the mornings, so I wanted to buy these training pants to use.  One thing I regret not doing with my kiddos is cloth diapering.  I didn’t know anyone who cloth diapered when Will was born and was so overwhelmed with him as a baby (nursing, going back to work, pumping, in general he was a fussy baby, etc.) that I didn’t think much about cloth diapering.  I briefly considered it when Harper was born, but I didn’t follow through with it (I really wish I had, though).  Anyway, we have been using the training pants and Will loves them!  He is such a big boy now!

20140119-070847.jpg

{5} Oh, Target!  In case you haven’t noticed, I’m a little obsessed with Target.   I go there on an almost weekly basis.  Here’s some of their most recent Valentines items.  I bought some heart candy cups and plan on making this s’mores mix.

20140119-070906.jpg

Have a wonderful weekend!

13 thoughts on “Five on Friday!

  1. OMG Target is the best. I can’t go in there unless I’m on a mission, otherwise I get sucked in for an hour! Last time I was there, I picked up that “woof you” plate for Mason and he loves the dog! I hope you have a great weekend! stay warm!

  2. it takes every fiber in my being to not go v-day crazy. i want to buy kaye a bunch of cute little bits, but i know she won’t care…so why waste? i’m going to do it anyway…for the photo op. 🙂 i live about 75 miles from target…but when i do get there things get out of hand. 🙂 new reader! yay!

    • I feel the same way! I love living 20 minutes from Target, but it can be bad sometime! Thanks for visiting! I recently came across your blog and started following it:)

Leave a comment