{beach 2014 recap}

We recently got back from a week long vacation in Duck, North Carolina on the Outer Banks. I’ve been going to Duck every other year for a while now with my family. We were trying to remember when we first started going-sometime back in the early ’90s. Every time we go to Duck, we stay on the same street and usually have extended family members who stay in other houses right up the street from us. When we went in 2010, my mom’s family had four houses on the same street! How fun!

This year, my parents, my oldest brother and his wife and two children, my younger brother, and my youngest brother and his wife all shared a house with us.

Just a quick look back at Harper’s first time at the beach in 2012 and this summer. My how much she has changed! She likes the ocean a lot better this time, ha!
Harper beach collage

And here is Will-he’s been three times, but this most recent trip was his favorite. He didn’t really remember much about the beach before this summer. Will beach collageWe stayed in a wonderful house this year-a three story house with six bedrooms, five bathrooms, a nice pool outside. Last time we went, we were in a four bedroom, two bathroom house, which was difficult with 13 people (including four kiddos).

Our house was quite kid-friendly as well. The top level, which included a big kitchen, open dining area, large living room and a bathroom, had a built in baby gate. The house also included two high chairs and a crib! We still took along our pack n play for Harper to use, as well as her booster seat since I didn’t know the house came with high chairs.

The bottom level of our house had two king size bedrooms with attached bathrooms. It also had a nice lounge area with a tv and mini kitchen.

We stayed on the second level, which included four bedrooms and two bathrooms. Will shared a room with his almost 6 year old cousin, O. Harper stayed in our room and actually did okay sleeping (she usually doesn’t sleep as well when she’s in the same room as us). Our bedroom had direct access to the deck and views of the ocean:)

Our week consisted of swimming in the ocean in the mornings, lunch and naps, then pool time in the afternoons. Lots of staying up late (for the kiddos) and tons of fun!

{Note-this post is full of pics!}

Will and Harper enjoying some pool time.
IMG_6869

Attempting to get a group picture of the cousins. Harper wasn’t very happy about it. We had a 2, 3, 4, and 5 year old at our beach house.
IMG_6910

Each morning we walked down to the beach. The only downfall to our house was its location. It was about a 10 minute (with kids) walk to the beach.
IMG_6925

Getting our chairs and tent set up.  See my brother in the background? They call me Mamarazzi? Well, I’m going to call him Paparazzi, ha!

IMG_6935Harper loved playing in the sand but wasn’t too thrilled about the waves. I took her in the ocean several times and she screamed and clung on to me when the waves came up.

IMG_6941

Eating snacks with Grammy. Boy, this girl loves to eat!
IMG_6995

Will loved the sand but also enjoyed getting in the water.
IMG_7008

He even went out on the boogie board and rode in some waves!
IMG_7012

More pool time. I’m glad I invested in these Speedo life jackets for both Harper and Will. Any time we were out at the pool they wore them. I also bought a reusable swimming diaper cover made by Speedo for Harper. It worked great, and I loved not having to deal with the disposable swimmy diapers.
IMG_7097

IMG_7233

Hanging out in the beach tent. This was a great buy!
IMG_7279

More snacking by the pool. It might seem like all my kids do is eat, since most of these pictures show them with food! That’s when they are sitting still and when I can manage to get some pics, ha!
IMG_7291

One day we ate lunch outside after pool time.
IMG_7306

IMG_7307

I bought some bubbles and other toys for the kids to play with at the beach.
IMG_7325

Getting her nails painted by Aunt M.
IMG_7379

Getting ready for pictures. We had my cousin take some pictures of all 13 of us on the beach.
IMG_7393

IMG_7400

Walking down to the beach for pictures. IMG_7412

IMG_7433

IMG_7511

In the town of Duck, there is a neat boardwalk that goes along the sound. We strolled on it several times.
IMG_7634

Eating meals together as a family. Each night, one of the siblings was in charge of dinner. For my night, I made honey chicken lime enchiladas (I made them at home and froze them, which made dinner so much easier) and guac and chips and salsa.
IMG_7670

Harper visiting with her Uncle E (my youngest brother). All of my brothers are great with Harper and Will:)
IMG_7687

Tired girl.
IMG_7691

While at the beach, we celebrated my nephew O’s upcoming 6th birthday. Since Will’s aunt and uncle from NC couldn’t come to Will’s birthday party back in May, we also had a mini birthday celebration for him as well. My sister-in-law also had goodies for the girls-stickers and mermaid tattoos, as well as some cool Kinder Surprise Eggs from her recent trip to Europe.
IMG_7712

Here’s a picture of Harper with her great grandmother. My grandparents (mom’s parents) stayed in a beach house right down the street from us (and yes, she’s sporting a mermaid tattoo on her arm!).
IMG_7800

The kiddos being creative with their play.
IMG_7807

My oldest brother created a huge sand pit one day at the beach. It was so big that from out in the ocean, you couldn’t see Harper (though it doesn’t take much since she’s so small, ha!).

IMG_7891

IMG_7912

One day, Harper was so exhausted at the beach that she fell asleep in my arms.
IMG_7947

Looking for fish at the pier.
IMG_8012

Beautiful sunset.
IMG_8038

More eating in the tent.
IMG_8056

Playing in the sand.
IMG_8086

Walking down the street to the boardwalk.
IMG_8123

Arrgh matey! Harper wasn’t so sure about this pirate.
IMG_8136

Walking on the boardwalk.
IMG_8151

Sunset on our last evening at the beach.
IMG_8152Our 2014 beach trip was wonderful! Great fun with family, swimming in the ocean and the pool, walks in the evenings, beautiful sunsets, great weather, yummy food. I can’t wait until next time:)