5 on Friday

20140604-204020-74420882.jpg

Happy Friday! It’s my first Friday off for the summer! Yahoo!  I’m linking up with Christina and others for 5 on Friday:)

{one} Fruit lovin’ kiddo! My kids (and I) love to eat fruit and we’re enjoying the yummy fresh fruit this summer.  I can buy a whole watermelon at the beginning of the week and it’s gone by the end of the week! We have two raspberry and blueberry bushes in our yard that we planted last year. I hope they will produce some good fruit in the next several years. 20140604-204021-74421852.jpg{two} Mint! We started a small mint patch outside and each year it spreads like crazy! I need to make some fresh mint iced tea with it.  Any good recipes you have that call for mint? 20140604-204021-74421541.jpg{three} Going along with my outdoor/gardening theme, ha! We have some gorgeous rose bushes outside that are in full bloom now.  I’m loving this wonderful summer weather after our very cold, LONG winter!20140604-204022-74422161.jpg{four} Snack containers…my plan this summer is to fill these with healthy snacks for Will and Harper. I want them to be able to grab them out of the fridge or pantry (at least Will…Harper might need my assistance, ha!) when they are hungry and want a snack.  I’ve been searching on Pinterest for healthy snacks.  Some of my kids’ favorite snacks are hard boiled eggs, nuts, raisins, and cheese.

20140604-204022-74422768.jpg

{five} Lawn parties-have you ever heard of them? They must be a Virginia thing because I hadn’t heard of them before moving here.  They’re basically a fund-raiser for local volunteer fire companies and include food such as fried chicken and fried oreos (I didn’t try these), carnival rides, music, and other events.  We went to a local lawn party the other evening and had a good time. It started to rain, however, so we weren’t able to stay that long.  The kids were disappointed because they wanted to ride the rides, but we did manage to play on the playground for a few minutes before it started down-pouring. 20140604-204021-74421222.jpgI hope you have a wonderful weekend!

13 thoughts on “5 on Friday

  1. I have never heard of a lawn party. I think we would call that a carnival, fair, or a festival here. Your roses look gorgeous!! I also love the Rubbermaid containers. I would love to get in the habit of washing fruit and dicing it up as soon as I get home from the grocery to make it easier for when we need it.

    • We have carnivals and festivals around here as well as the lawn parties. It’s always interesting to see traditions in different regions of the US. I’ve been trying to do better at washing fruit and veggies and cutting them up after we get back from the grocery store…it makes things so much easier!

  2. I just cut up a whole watermelon this morning! Sadly not as crunchy as I like, but Aria and I will eat that all day long! yum!
    Never heard of a lawn party myself.
    What beautiful roses!!

  3. I have been known to take down a watermelon very quickly myself, especially when pregnant. 🙂 Your snack containers are a great idea. Mine love similar snacks, and lately he’s been loving cherry tomatoes more than anything!

  4. My kids are the exact same. Luckily we’ve had strawberries and raspberries out of the garden this year. yum!
    Also… I don’t know about you, but I’ve been super bummed about missing five on Friday for the summer. If you’re interested my friend Karli {september FARM} and I {the farmer’s wife} are starting up a link-up “oh hey, friday!” with the exact same outline and would love for you to join us this Friday! Hope to see you there.
    xoxo
    Amy
    denimandplaid.blogspot.com

Leave a comment